

Neimeyer/Hodgson Research Grants Awarded

M

Eight Millersville University students recently received Neimeyer/Hodgson Research Grants, awarded by the Alumni Association, to assist with the costs of research projects. The individual awards ranged from \$100 to \$250 and totaled more than \$1,350.

The students and their projects are: Glynnis A. Bowman of Apollo, geography, to assess the nature of bituminous coal waste and its effect on water quality; Jefferson A. Brightbill, Myerstown, anthropology, to study the Afro-Brazilian Candomble cult (a religious society) by living among the Candomble practioners, gathering life histories and producing inventories of material objects used by the cult; Ella F. Hoover, Lancaster, elementary education, to research how classroom teachers identify underachieving and gifted students; Virginia Hunsberger, Lancaster, chemistry, to develop a laboratory technique for determining the amount of vitamin C found in many everyday foods.

Also: Elizabeth Kauffman, Lancaster, biology, to continue the research of a previous Neimeyer-Hodgson grant recipient regarding groundwater nitrate levels in the Quarryville area; Sayeeda Y. Saikia, Millersville, history, to research the Philadelphia Race Riot of 1918; Candace L. Seifrit, Laureldale, biology, to produce a pictorial display of representative plankton species based on seasonal diversity; and Robert H. Sipe, Jr., York, psychology, to study health practices and hardiness differences between male and female students.

Monies for the endowed program come from a bequest to the Alumni Association by Minnie Menges Neimeyer '23 and a bequest to the MU Foundation from Laura L. Hodgson, the mother of Pearle L. Hodgson '31.

Rep. Jere Schuler and Sen. Ralph Hess Receive Distinguished Alumni Award

This year's Distinguished Service Award was shared by two recipients, both of whom are Pennsylvania state legislators: State Representative Jere W. Schuler and State Senator Ralph Hess. The awards were presented on June 2 during the 1990 Alumni Day luncheon.

Rep. Schuler, who graduated from MU in 1956, initially became a social studies teacher at Lampeter-Strasburg High School and began his political career in 1965 by working with Lancaster County's Republican committee. He has served in the state House of Representatives since

Marauder Football In California

F or the first time in the history of MU football, the Marauders will travel to California this fall. The team will play Cal Poly at San Luis Obispo at 1:30 p.m. (PST) on Saturday, November 10.

Tentative plans are being made for a gathering of area alumni and those who'll make a day of it from the Los Angeles and San Francisco areas. If you're interested in helping to plan a social event in connection with the game, please write to or phone Lee Eastwood, director of Alumni Programs at Millersville University, Millersville, PA 17551-0302, phone (717) 872-3352.

MU Homecoming Reunions Reunions are planned for the classes of '55, '60, '65, '70, '75, '80 and '85 for Homecoming Weekend, October 12-13. To volunteer to help plan your reunion, call the Alumni Programs Office. 1983 and was Republican chairman of the Sub-Committee on Basic Education during 1989.

Senator Hess, who represents the southern York County (the 28th Senatorial District), is a 1962 MU graduate. Prior to his 1970 election, Hess taught political science and economics at West York Area High School and later served as a guidance counselor at Spring Grove Area High School. A few of his many legislative committee duties include serving as Majority Caucus Administrator and as chairman of the Senate Education Committee. He is retiring from the Senate in January, 1991.

The Distinguished Service Award is presented annually by the Alumni Association to alumni who bring honor to themselves, the University or to the Alumni Association. Recipients are selected from nominations submitted by alumni or others affiliated with the University.

Alumni Council Election

Six alumni were elected to the Alumni Council through mail-in ballots sent to all alumni in April. More than 1,400 alumni voted to elect two representatives from each of three 20-year periods covering a total of 60 years, from 1929-1988.

Elected for five-year terms, the following alumni will serve on Alumni Council committees as well as attend full-council quarterly meetings: William Wilkinson '34, Nancy Herr Rees '39, Ralph Kraft '49, Stanley Deen '59, Cheryle McLain Youtz '69, and Violet Apple '84.